Skip to content

Expectant Waiting

December 22, 2014

Woohoo! It’s Christmastime! It’s the hap-happiest season of all (sorry, had to do it).

Seriously though, this is my favorite season! There is so much I love about Christmas, and one of my favorite things is waiting for Christmas. That’s right. I said waiting is one of my favorite things about Christmas.

Anticipating…

Hoping…

Preparing…

Waiting.

AdventpicMy family and I spend the weeks leading up to Christmas observing Advent.  Advent is a time of expectant waiting and preparing as we get closer and closer to Christmas. Starting the fourth Sunday before Christmas, we set aside time each day to be intentional in our waiting. We have fun things we do throughout that time as well as things that are meant to teach how that little baby born in Bethlehem was exactly what so many people had been waiting for and how we are still a people waiting.

I know waiting isn’t everyone’s favorite thing to do, and I certainly can’t claim to be the most patient person myself. But, man oh man, how I love Advent! It is more than just waiting for something good to get here (How many days until Christmas, again?), but about how the days leading up to that good thing are also days with a purpose. Days used to prepare yourself. Days used to grow and to refocus on what is really important. Even though I may not be the best at waiting, as a doula I certainly get a lot of practice.

I am constantly walking alongside my clients as they come to the end of their pregnancies, eagerly anticipating the arrival of their little ones. It is often hard. Parents are anxious to meet their child. Sometimes they are scared about whether or not they are ready, filled with questions about what labor will be like, what kind of parent they will be, what their life will look like after adding a new person to their family.

This time of waiting at the end of pregnancy is also extremely exciting and can be an especially joyous season. Nurseries get decorated, maternity photos are taken to remember this special moment, moms track their little one’s growth week-by-week (often times comparing them to produce for some reason). It is also a time of preparation.  Parents start readying older siblings, pets, and their homes for when baby comes. Of course, we can’t forget,  there are celebrations. Baby showers, blessingways, and babymoons all fill up the days leading up to THE DAY.

I don’t just walk alongside my clients during the waiting but I also get to see their waiting come to an end. I get to receive that call, “I think this is it… I think I’m in labor” and then that other call, “Yes, I am definitely in labor!” I get to walk alongside as a woman labors and surrenders and realizes the conclusion of her waiting and the beginning… the beginning of everything else. I get to witness mothers made and mothers made again. And then… I get to do it all again, waiting with a new mother. And then again… and again. It’s a good thing I love the waiting 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

