Skip to content

Baked Amish-Style Oatmeal

January 24, 2011

This would certainly be in the “Etc.” category but this was so delicious I just had to share.  The boys and I went to visit a good friend of mine, Jill, and she made us this yummy baked oatmeal.  My kids gobbled it up and asked for seconds so I had to get a copy of the recipe.  She had gotten the recipe from a friend herself and wasn’t sure where it originally came from.  When Owen and Silas helped me make it Saturday morning, Owen had the fun idea to take pictures along the way and a blog post was born 🙂

Here is the recipe:

Baked Amish-Style Oatmeal

2 eggs, beaten
2/3 c. oil
1/3 – 2/3 c. sugar (optional… I used 1/2 cup)
4 c. old-fashioned oatmeal
1 tsp. cinnamon
3 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt (optional)
1 c. milk
1 c. chopped apples
1 c. blueberries
1 c. chopped pecans
1 c. brown sugar

This picture is actually perfect- it shows my little 21-month-old helper in the act of swiping my ingredients. I am not sure how many blueberries, apples, and chopped pecans we lost 🙂

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Mix together the eggs, oil and sugar.  Then add everything else except for the brown sugar.  Put mixture into 9 X 13 baking dish (I greased mine- not sure if it made a difference) then sprinkle brown sugar on top of mixture. Bake for 25-30minutes and serve w/ syrup, milk or cream (I actually had leftovers later that night for dessert.  Warm baked oatmeal + ice cream = yummy.)  I know we wanted to share recipes you can use with WIC- for this one the eggs, milk, oatmeal, and fruit can all be purchased using your WIC coupons.

Oatmeal waiting to be topped with brown sugar.

I actually had the last bit of this oatmeal for breakfast this morning and I can’t wait to make it again!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie Serpette permalink
    January 24, 2011 6:47 pm

    OM GOSH that looks delicious. Think it will be ok without the pecans? I don’t let my baby have them yet. I can’t wait to try this.

    • jessicabirthdoula permalink*
      January 24, 2011 6:57 pm

      Actually when my friend made it for us she omitted the nuts because she didn’t have any 🙂

    • Malory permalink*
      January 24, 2011 7:03 pm

      @Julie- would def be okay w/o pecans!
      And for nut lovers: walnuts would be tasty in this! So making this in the (hopefully) near future!

  2. WendySue permalink
    February 2, 2011 1:31 pm

    We made it this morning! We had just finished off our blueberries yesterday and don’t have pecans, so I just put apples, bananas and raisins in it. Also, I used 2 tablespoons of honey instead of the white sugar, and only put 1/2 cup of brown sugar on the top. It was really good! Thanks for the idea!

  3. Hannah permalink*
    February 7, 2011 10:18 am

    We are eating this right now! Tastes like a warm granola bar….mmmmm……

Leave a Reply

