Skip to content

thank you

October 20, 2010

Last Tuesday I suffered a ruptured fallopian tube as well as a ruptured corpus luteum cyst as the result of an ectopic pregnancy.  I had emergency surgery in which my right fallopian tube was removed and my right ovary had to be repaired.  I was in the hospital until Thursday evening and have been recovering (physically, emotionally) since.  During that time, I was on call for two moms.  My awesome back-up doula and fellow blogger, Malory Teegarden, not only lifted a huge burden for me by giving the assurance that a doula I completely trusted would be with my clients if I couldn’t (which she always does) but she even rushed to Bloomington to join Matt and I at the emergency room.  She was there when I was told I needed surgery, she sat with Matt in the waiting room during the procedure and she stayed hours afterward.  She contacted another doula in town, Lauren Breyer with Wise Women Birth Services, who also graciously agreed to help back for me (I was on call for two moms due around the same time so my back up needed a back up.)  The very night of my surgery, my church family (besides being the ones who answered my call for help as I needed someone to drive me to the hospital and watch my children on such short notice and came and visited Matt and I afterward) had a meal schedule set up with people bringing my whole family dinner all the way through October 24th.  My sister drove from an hour away with her 8 week old baby to help watch the boys with my mom (and other brother and sister). My dear friend and fellow doula, Hannah Landis, stopped by with a sweet note and a delicious sparkling lemonade. Another good friend, Anna Hubbard with Once Upon a Sling sling shop and who teaches Bradley classes with Once Upon a Birth came and visited, bringing me “whatever I wanted” (which was gum and playing cards.)  Friends from far away sent notes of encouragement and friends close gave me their hugs and their tears.

This community of people has been God’s instrument of love in my life.  I am still sad, still grieving the loss of a baby that was very loved and very wanted.  I am still joyful, still enamored with the people God has placed in my life.

Yesterday one of my clients gave me an amazing gift.  They allowed me into their birthing room.  They gave me permission to serve them during a transforming part of their lives.  They gave me a front row seat as I witnessed their son being born- wet, squirmy, and full of life!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Hilary S permalink
    October 20, 2010 9:23 pm

    I’m so sorry, Jessica. I will pray for a smooth recovery–both physical and emotional.

  2. October 21, 2010 4:23 am

    Amidst your difficult situation, you have taken time and thoughtfulness about God’s instrument of love in your life. Wonderful! Wishes and Prayers for everything to go smooth ahead for you!

  3. Annie Moodie permalink
    October 21, 2010 6:54 am

    Jessica, you are a strong women, and God is always taking care of you. Thanks for being such a good friend. I pray too that time will heal.

Leave a Reply

