Skip to content

Making your own baby food (Giveaway)

April 27, 2010

I am really excited that Fresh Baby has offered to give one of our readers the So Easy Baby Food Kit because this kit has changed the way I think about “baby food”.  The food that our babies eat don’t have to be an unrecognizable mystery- not knowing exactly where it came from, how it was cooked, or what’s in it.  Baby food is just food that is prepared in a way that is appropriate for our child’s age.  In fact, I don’t even see the pureed food that I make for Silas as exclusively baby food and have used it for the whole family- whether it is using sweet potato puree for sweet potato pie, carrots in carrot cake or adding frozen cubes of peaches to my iced tea.

There are quite a few things that I find appealing to making my own baby food:

#1 The control I have over what my baby is eating. I can choose the freshest food and cook it in a way that preserves the most vitamins and nutrients (jarred food is cooked at very high temperatures for a long period of time to lengthen shelf life which leads to a decrease in nutritional content.)  I also get to choose what food my baby gets and can offer a larger variety since I am not limited to what is available on the shelf.  Some of Silas’ favorites, like avocado and mango, I’d never find in the store.

#2 Making your own baby food is better for the environment. It makes sense that picking up fresh produce from the local farmer’s market, your own garden, or even from the grocery store creates less waste than jarred food.  The most obvious thing that you’re avoiding- the jars!  Not to mention the labels, the boxes that those jars are shipped in, the waste the factories create making that food and transporting it, etc.

#3 It is cost effective. By selecting foods as they’re in season I can make baby food at a fraction of the cost of the jarred stuff.  I will break down the price of how much it cost for me to make the acorn squash baby food that I’ll show you later in this post.

#4 It is easy. Don’t tell anyone- but I am not a very good housewife.  I really wish I was but homemaking does not come naturally to me.  Thankfully, making baby food is easy and doesn’t require tons of time.  I love things that require minimal effort but makes me feel pretty productive (like hanging out laundry) and making baby food definitely makes the list.  The kit makes it so simple.  It includes a how-to DVD, a great guide to making your own baby food which includes recipes and a cute little area that is like a journal where you can track your baby’s first foods, what they ate during special occasions like their birthday, and their favorites.  I also love the laminated “tip card” which I keep on the fridge as a quick reference .

Just to show you how easy (and inexpensive) it is, here is the step-by-step process of how I made some acorn squash last October.  I purchased the squash at the Downtown Bloomington Farmer’s Market for 50¢.  I was able to get 30 oz of baby food out of the one squash so that ended up costing me a little less than 2¢ an ounce.  At our local grocery store, a 2-pack of 2.5 oz squash baby food (not organic- even though the squash I bought at the Farmer’s Market was) is $1.49 (not including tax) or a little more than 29¢ per ounce.  Not only did it cost less per once but the nutritional bang for my buck was more because I was able to prepare it in a way that kept more nutritional value than the jarred stuff.

First I washed the squash, cut it in half and removed the seeds with a spoon.

Then, I cut the squash into fourths.

After that I put the squash in a microwave-safe glass dish with a couple tablespoons of water and covered it with plastic wrap.  I cooked it for about 12 minutes and then let it sit for about 5 minutes..

I was able to just scoop the “meat” of the squash out with a spoon and put it into my food processor.  I then added a little bit of breast milk (don’t worry- this was just for Silas, I didn’t make it into a loaf of squash and feed it to my neighbors or anything) to give it a smooth texture as I pureed it.

Then I piped it into the Fresh Baby trays by putting it in a baggie and cutting the tip of it off to make a piping bag.  After freezing overnight you can transfer the frozen squash cubes to a freezer bag.

I also kept the seeds which I roasted with some olive oil and salt- yummy!

Alright- so ready to find out how you can win a So Easy Baby Food Kit all of your very own?!?  Of course you are 🙂

To Enter the Giveaway:
• Leave a comment on this post letting us know the biggest reason you make your own baby food (or would like to).
• For an extra entry, put a link back to this giveaway on Facebook or Twitter (and then do a second comment here that says “FB/Twitter”)
• You will get ANOTHER entry for posting about this giveaway on your own blog (add another comment here that says “blogged here” with a link to your blog)
• And lastly, you will get ONE MORE entry for subscribing to our blog. (Add another comment that says that you’ve subscribed)

small print This giveaway is running until midnight central time Friday, April 30th. You will win a brand new So Easy Baby Food Kit which will be shipped to you directly from Fresh Baby.  This contest is only open to U.S. residents.  The winner will be chosen by random.org and will have 48 hours to respond.  If we haven’t heard from the winner within that time frame- a new winner will be selected.

45 Comments leave one →
  1. Annmarie permalink
    April 27, 2010 2:24 pm

    Jessica, thanks so much for this article. So many people think it’s hard to make their own baby food. We did this with both boys and it was soo easy. I think it takes longer to bundle up the kids, get in the car, and drive to and from the store to purchase baby food than it does to make a bunch of veggie purees yourself. I used the Fresh Baby set and loved it. While we are past this stage with our family (at least for the moment), I just wanted to comment that this is a great food prep system and it’s a super easy process.

  2. Sheila Snyder permalink
    April 27, 2010 4:46 pm

    I am expecting my first baby in June and I definitely plan to make my own baby food. I am very concerned about the quality of the food that goes into commercial baby food, not to mention the preservatives and sugar additives. I would love to win this kit.

    thanks
    Sheila

  3. Julie permalink
    April 27, 2010 4:51 pm

    I make my own baby food because I think it is better (I know what is in it) and sooooooooooo much cheaper. I have 5 kids and feeding all of them is expensive. I hope that seeing make baby food for their younger siblings will encourage my kids to do the same when they have their own kids.

  4. April 28, 2010 2:25 pm

    I make my own baby food because I want my children to eat healthy and reduce waste. There is so much left over after purchasing baby food. We recycle, but reduce is the first ‘R’.

  5. April 28, 2010 2:30 pm

    FB/Twitter effblog

  6. April 28, 2010 2:30 pm

    Following with google reader 🙂

  7. Sara Christensen permalink
    April 28, 2010 3:17 pm

    I never had a desire to make my own baby food, until I read this post. You made it sound so easy, that even I could make the time to do it. I knew that cooking can reduce the vitamins found in fruits and veggies, but I never thought it through to realize that the “shelf” foods would have to be preserved. I think the next time around I very well may venture in to making my own baby food.

    • jessicabirthdoula permalink*
      April 28, 2010 3:39 pm

      Yay Sara- you can do it! 😮

  8. Liz permalink
    April 28, 2010 7:26 pm

    I’d love to make my own baby food when my daughter gets old enough. My main reason is, like you said, that I’d know exactly what my baby is eating. Of course, it’s also cheaper which is nice, too.

  9. Liz permalink
    April 28, 2010 7:28 pm

    Subscribed via Google Reader

  10. susan permalink
    April 29, 2010 12:17 am

    I’d love to make my own because I’ll know exactly what is in it!

  11. susan permalink
    April 29, 2010 12:18 am

    Twitter ~ http://twitter.com/susanlanai/status/13054164733

  12. susan permalink
    April 29, 2010 12:19 am

    I’m a subscriber.

  13. Liz Richards permalink
    April 29, 2010 7:15 am

    I am making our baby food this time around. It is fresher and less expensive that way. 🙂

  14. Liz Richards permalink
    April 29, 2010 7:28 am

    Subscribed via Google Reader.

  15. Liz Richards permalink
    April 29, 2010 7:29 am

    Linked to FB:
    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/vegmama?ref=profile

  16. emily irwin permalink
    April 29, 2010 7:49 am

    it is cheap and healthy!

  17. cindy permalink
    April 29, 2010 8:14 am

    I am expecting my first in October and I plan on making my own baby food for many reasons. I think it will be easier to just puree some of the veggies that we are eating for dinner. The quality of food is higher and I think it will taste better. Thanks for this AWESOME giveaway.

  18. April 29, 2010 8:18 am

    Wow. That makes it look so much easier! I have never made my own baby food, but have always wanted to. With the economy being what it is and money being tight I am going to really give it my best effort with my next baby (due in December!). I love that it saves so much money and is healthier for my baby. Great giveaway!

  19. teisa linscott permalink
    April 29, 2010 8:50 am

    I have a 4 month old baby girl, so we are almost the the solid food phase and would love to make my own baby food for the one and only reason because its much healthier then the prepackaged stuff.

    teisalinscott@gmail.com

  20. April 29, 2010 9:20 am

    I would love to try making my own baby food for my son, who is almost ready for solid foods. I’d like to try this kit because I didn’t make home-made baby food all the time for my other two. I’m doing a few things differently with him, and it’s been really fun so far.

    Thanks for the chance 🙂

    poetees at gmail dot com

  21. April 29, 2010 10:19 am

    I really enjoy making my son’s baby food. After the first batch, I’ve got it down to a science. I know exactly what my son is eating. Plus, we are saving money and reducing waste. I really enjoy cooking… and this is just one more way to fulfill that passion. It warms my heart to make baby food. My son seems to enjoy what I make for him better than the jar stuff anyway… it must be all the added love!

  22. April 29, 2010 10:32 am

    It is TONS cheaper than buying it!

  23. Lindsay permalink
    April 29, 2010 11:10 am

    I make my own to avoid chemicals and pesticides!

  24. Theresa permalink
    April 29, 2010 12:29 pm

    I plan on making my own baby food (no baby yet) to save some money, b/c I think it will be fun, and so I know what’s in it!

  25. April 29, 2010 3:20 pm

    The biggest reason I want to make my own baby food is because I can control what is going into the food. I am not dependent on someone else making the food that contains all sorts of preservatives, pesticides, and who knows what else!

  26. April 29, 2010 8:32 pm

    I made my own baby food because it was fun to see what I could come up with that my guy would eat. I love the whole process but your gift would have made it lots easier!

  27. April 29, 2010 9:13 pm

    i like making it better because my baby will actually it eat if i do!

  28. April 29, 2010 9:13 pm

    i subscribed to your blog

  29. Lisa permalink
    April 30, 2010 6:45 am

    I make my own baby food so I can control what goes in it and actually make baby food that tastes good!

  30. Beth permalink
    April 30, 2010 7:53 am

    I want to try it because I know it is healthier and provides more nutrients.

  31. Elizabeth permalink
    April 30, 2010 12:03 pm

    I’d like to make my own babyfood because I have never tried doing so before – my older boys were stuck with bananas and anything else I could mush up really easily so they didn’t have much variety. I’d like to work on nutrition with this little one!

  32. Elizabeth permalink
    April 30, 2010 12:05 pm

    Now follow you through google reader 🙂

  33. Emily permalink
    April 30, 2010 12:22 pm

    I will be using my Magic Bullet (so fun) when I start making baby food in the next few months.
    I want to save some money and know exactly what I’m feeding E.

  34. Meighan permalink
    April 30, 2010 12:53 pm

    I have a 5 week old son and would love to try to make our own baby food. I do a veggie garden every year and always have lots to chop and freeze throughout the season so this would be a great way to use up some of the extra veggies we have! It sounds so easy too!!! Glad I read this!

  35. Meighan permalink
    April 30, 2010 12:55 pm

    Subscribed: MyYahoo reader

  36. Meighan permalink
    April 30, 2010 12:59 pm

    Twitter

  37. Angie Erickson permalink
    April 30, 2010 1:06 pm

    With my daughter I did kind of a combination between making my own food and purchasing “baby food”. With my next one, I would like to do a lot more making my own. I think it will actually be easier bc you can just put the veggies from dinner into the food processor for the little one. Jessica, I like what you said about it being still “food” it is just mashed up so a baby can eat it. I think sometimes baby feed seems so foreign. Great article!!

  38. Michelle permalink
    April 30, 2010 2:22 pm

    With Izzy we made our own fruits and veggies. It seemed way cheaper and was easy to do. The one thing we never tried was our own meats. Maybe with Addy we will attempt to make fruit, veggies, and meat for her.

  39. Michelle permalink
    April 30, 2010 2:24 pm

    subscribed by email

  40. Michelle permalink
    April 30, 2010 2:25 pm

    facebook shared

  41. Kim Hillard permalink
    April 30, 2010 3:54 pm

    I made most of the food for my 3d and 4th babies–mostly because they wanted to eat what their siblings were eating and I was more educated that the “jar” baby foods aren’t as good as they seem. Although I’m taking a break from making food for the family for a while, I still want to feed everyone as healthily as possible. What a great discussion and opportunity for knowledge and skills to be shared. Well done, Jessica!

  42. Felicia permalink
    April 30, 2010 10:02 pm

    I would love it because it is safer and better for baby! 🙂
    tigpooh1516″at”yahoo”dot”com

Trackbacks

  1. A doula’s duties | yogaspaces
  2. Making your own baby food « doulas etc. | Get Pregnant

Leave a Reply

